Review of Everland by Wendy Spinale

Everland by Wendy Spinale

26085520

Review: I think this is one of the first books to really surprise me in my OwlCrate box. Normally I have a pretty good guess about what will be coming in the mail each month, but this book, nope. I had not really heard about this new series, and was not all that much paying attention to the book world, due to finals.

but once the box had come in, I could not stop myself from dropping all of my other reads and start this one. And I have to say this before going on. I love retellings, more then anything really, but I have only read two other books about Peter Pan then this one. And they are both amazing. So I had some high standards.

I completely l in love with the steampunk aspect of the story, I with there was more in it! I thought the plot was just okay. Not something worthwhile, like I was hoping. It felt like the author was based the retelling off the Disney movie Peter Pan and not much else.

The character were another thing that were just okay, I am hoping that they are more developed ( or show growth/ depth) in the next book of the series.

312 pages.

3 out of 5 stars.

Young Adult. Romance. Retelling. Science Fiction. Steampunk. Fantasy.

Published by Scholastic Press.

Summary: London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among them Gwen Darling and her siblings, Joanna and Mikey. They spend their nights scavenging and their days avoiding the ruthless Marauders — the German army led by Captain Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer.

Unsure if the virus has spread past England’s borders but desperate to leave, Captain Hook hunts for a cure, which he thinks can be found in one of the survivors. He and his Marauders stalk the streets snatching children for experimentation. None ever return. Until the day they grab Joanna. As Gwen sets out to save her, she meets a daredevil boy named Pete. Pete offers the assistance of his gang of Lost Boys and the fierce sharpshooter Bella, who have all been living in a city hidden underground. But in a place where help has a steep price and every promise is bound by blood, it will cost Gwen. And are she, Pete, the Lost Boys, and Bella enough to outsmart Captain Hook?

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Advertisements

Review of A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2) by Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2)  by Susan Dennard

13624584

Review: I was doing a small read-a- thon, all by myself because I really wanted to clean up my TBR shelves in my room. So I finally got around to reading this book.

It did start off a little slow, and still had more then I would have liked slow moments throughout the book. But overall I am very interested into finding out what the heck’s going on! Because after reading this second book I feel that everything is just building up for the last book. That nothing will be done or sorted till then.

Although I think my favorite part of this series is the beautiful covers showing where the characters are in the book. It’s just super cool to read about all the different places. Especially when the characters describe the different landmarks they are looking at.

And I have so many questions about the characters and the small plots going on, all at the same time. So I am very much looking forward to the final book in this series, mostly so that I can finally get some answers!

3 out of 5 stars.

432 pages. Paperback.

Young Adult. Romance. Paranormal. Horror. Science Fiction. Steampunk. Fantasy.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Review of The Girl with the Windup Heart (Steampunk Chronicles #4) by Kady Cross

The Girl with the Windup Heart (Steampunk Chronicles #4)  by Kady Cross

18513756

Review: I was so happy to finally get this book within my collection, that way I could finally read it and know what happens to all the characters. I just love endings to a series.

This book brought all the steampunk-ness that all of the other books have had and a final showdown with the evil villain. The best part of this book was Mila and Jack Dandy’s parts. Why you might ask, well they had the new interesting romance and Jack’s always been a bit of a mystery.

I do wish Kady Cross didn’t make the book feel so rushed, I think that a lot more could have been expanded on and a flare more of steampunk. Mostly in Mila’s parts when she runs away to the circus. Which only a very small part is shown of her life there ( or really the one night). So as I said much more could have been added to make the final book in the series go out with a bang!

3 out of 5 stars.

396 pages. Hardback.

Young Adult. Romance. Steampunk. Fantasy. Paranormal. Historical Fiction.

Published by Harlequin TEEN.

Summary: In 1897 London, a final showdown is about to begin.

London’s underworld is no place for a young woman, even one who is strong, smart and part-automaton like Mila. But when master criminal Jack Dandy inadvertently breaks her heart, she takes off, determined to find an independent life, one entirely her own. Her search takes her to the spangled shadows of the West End’s most dazzling circus.

Meanwhile, taken captive in the Aether, Griffin King is trapped in an inescapable prison, and at the mercy of his archenemy, The Machinist. If he breaks under the hellish torment, The Machinist will claim his powers and control of the Aether itself, and no one in either world will be safe-especially not Finley Jayne and her misfit band of friends.

Finley plunges headlong into the Aether the only way she knows how, by temporarily dying. But she cannot parry The Machinist’s maneuvers for long. To defeat him for good, Griffin will have to confront his greatest fear and finally come face-to-face with the destructive power he wields.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Review of Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard

16159252

Review: I have heard nothing but great things about this book, but never what it was really about. So I was very happy to find it in my SWAG bag from RT this year, when I got home. So ever since May it has been staring at me and trying to get me to read it, I finally broke a couple of weeks ago and read it. I was not disappointed, but surprised. If I have know what the plot and the book it self was about, I mostly likely would not have read it.

Why? You might ask. I don’t like Zombies. NOT.AT.ALL. ( because it could really happen)

Red hill ruined me from ever picking up another Zombie book again. Although, this book had a deeper depth and was not about the Zombie apocalypse, which was very good for me. Eleanor was a cool badass character, who make it fun to read about her and how she was dealing with running her family and making sure that they could stay afloat and keep their image. Though at times it was hard to follow and I did get lost, I was able to find my way again very quickly. Though, I do have to say that the ending was my favorite because of the shocker that happens to Eleanor that doesn’t really happen to main characters in their books. Which left me wanting for more, and looking everywhere for the next book. Also another part of the book I liked, was that the romance was not a big thing, and also not all ” love at first sight”. To which, I think Dennard will develop more in the second and third books of the series.

4 out of 5 stars.

416 pages.

Young Adult. Horror. Historical fiction. Romance. Fantasy. Steampunk. Science fiction. Paranormal.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: Here’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.