Review of A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2) by Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2)  by Susan Dennard

13624584

Review: I was doing a small read-a- thon, all by myself because I really wanted to clean up my TBR shelves in my room. So I finally got around to reading this book.

It did start off a little slow, and still had more then I would have liked slow moments throughout the book. But overall I am very interested into finding out what the heck’s going on! Because after reading this second book I feel that everything is just building up for the last book. That nothing will be done or sorted till then.

Although I think my favorite part of this series is the beautiful covers showing where the characters are in the book. It’s just super cool to read about all the different places. Especially when the characters describe the different landmarks they are looking at.

And I have so many questions about the characters and the small plots going on, all at the same time. So I am very much looking forward to the final book in this series, mostly so that I can finally get some answers!

3 out of 5 stars.

432 pages. Paperback.

Young Adult. Romance. Paranormal. Horror. Science Fiction. Steampunk. Fantasy.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Advertisements

Review of The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1) by Megan Shepherd

The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1)  by Megan Shepherd

12291438

Review: I was really looking forward to this series and was really happy to pick it up at the library one day. But as I read the book and saw more and more of what the plot and characters were like, I was not impressed. I was quite let down when I finished reading this book, mostly due to the fact that the book was not as dark as I thought I would be. The characters were kind of awful the more I read about them, but I got that these characters were not suppose to be likable at this point in the series. Maybe its later in the series that I could come to like the plot and characters, but I don’t think I’m going to find out. Mostly due to the fact reading more of this series does not appeal to me at this point in time, maybe later, but I really doubt that.

Although there were many parts that were compelling to me to keep reading. Most of them had me on the edge of my seat just to find out what was going on.

3 out of 5 stars.

420 pages. Hardback.

Young Adult. Romance. Historical Fiction. Science Fiction. Horror.

Published by Balzer + Bray.

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father’s gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.

Accompanied by her father’s handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father’s madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island’s inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father’s dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it’s too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father’s genius—and madness—in her own blood.

Inspired by H. G. Wells’s classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman’s Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we’ll do anything to know and the truths we’ll go to any lengths to protect.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Review of The Dead List by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Dead List by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 24719666
Review: Ok, I know I say I love everything that Jennifer L. Armentrout writes. But Dang! This book is crazy good.  I was sucked in right off the bat and I had not even read what this book was about at all. I mean it is just that good. The whole time I was reading the book I kept trying to figure out who the killer could be, but it was just not happening. Every time I thought it was someone, they would do something and I would be like ok its not you, or they would kind of just die.
I also don’t do horror or scary books even of they are Young Adult or not. I am so not one for the scary stuff. I don’t care if that makes me a scaredy-cat, I am totally good with being one. But now after reading the Dead list, I so want to read more horror/ scary young adult books. I really mean it because I loved this book so much that I stayed up till about midnight trying to finish the book on my phone under my covers . I was so scared and on edge at chapter 20 because my phone was trying to tell me that was the end of the book. And I got all no! No it is not! and was able to tell it there were at least four more chapters.
I have got to say I did not see that ending coming at all, it felt like I got scared and was all like ok the worst part is over and then  nope. There was more scary and plot changing/ twisting coming out of no where and hitting me in the face.
One last things that I have to talk about is the Hot guy! So hot, like hotty mic hotty. It was totally not lost on my all the supernatural references, starting with the name of said hot guy… Jensen. I think that is all I need to say to get you guys to check out this book online while it is still up for free.
5 out of 5 stars.
E-book. From wattpad for free at the time of blog post.Can go here to read.
Young Adult. Romance. Mature Themes. Death. Horror. Mystery. Contemporary.
Published by Jennifer L. Armentrout herself on Wattpad at the time of posting review.

SummaryFrom Jennifer L. Armentrout’s blog posted on April 15, 2015:

“The Dead List is a full standalone novel, coming in at roughly 93,000 words. It’s a Young Adult Romantic Suspense Yes. Lots of Romance. Sort of like Don’t Look Back, but a throwback to movies like Scream and the sort of campy fun ones. Think I Know What You Did Last Summer meets Scream. But with more romance.

That’s all I’m going to say about the book. I think a blind read is something different. A little fun.

There are no plans at this time to sell it or put it in print soon. I probably will one day, but the point of this is that it’s free for you guys.

The Dead List is a raw novel, meaning it hasn’t been through copy editing. You’ll going to see typos and some strange things. You’re actually going to see what a book of mine looks like before copy editors get their hands on it. Hopefully there are no random ‘shits’ where there is supposed to be ‘shirts’.

I will be posting a chapter or a couple of chapters at a time, as one does on Wattpad. Chapters will be added every Wednesday, Friday and then Sunday as long as I’m not traveling or, you know, acts of God clause.

You can find me on Wattpad by going HERE
– You can download Wattpad on your phone or tablet
– Or read on your computer”

Read the full blog post regarding The Dead List HERE

-Summary from GoodReads.com 

Review of Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard

16159252

Review: I have heard nothing but great things about this book, but never what it was really about. So I was very happy to find it in my SWAG bag from RT this year, when I got home. So ever since May it has been staring at me and trying to get me to read it, I finally broke a couple of weeks ago and read it. I was not disappointed, but surprised. If I have know what the plot and the book it self was about, I mostly likely would not have read it.

Why? You might ask. I don’t like Zombies. NOT.AT.ALL. ( because it could really happen)

Red hill ruined me from ever picking up another Zombie book again. Although, this book had a deeper depth and was not about the Zombie apocalypse, which was very good for me. Eleanor was a cool badass character, who make it fun to read about her and how she was dealing with running her family and making sure that they could stay afloat and keep their image. Though at times it was hard to follow and I did get lost, I was able to find my way again very quickly. Though, I do have to say that the ending was my favorite because of the shocker that happens to Eleanor that doesn’t really happen to main characters in their books. Which left me wanting for more, and looking everywhere for the next book. Also another part of the book I liked, was that the romance was not a big thing, and also not all ” love at first sight”. To which, I think Dennard will develop more in the second and third books of the series.

4 out of 5 stars.

416 pages.

Young Adult. Horror. Historical fiction. Romance. Fantasy. Steampunk. Science fiction. Paranormal.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: Here’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.