Review of Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1) by Zoraida Córdova

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1)  by Zoraida Córdova

27969081

Review: I didn’t really know what to except going into this book when I started it. But after reading only a couple of pages I knew it was going to be a hard book to put down. Overall I think it only took me about four hours to read this book.

Some of the greatest things that I loved about this book was how well the author explained everything. Such things as the culture, backstory, and different traditions that Alex’s family held on to.
Normally I like to know everything that is talked about in the book by the characters, that way I could understand what was going on. But usually authors drag the story and anything good about it, down when talking about to many details. Although I felt that author Cordova did an amazing job balancing everything out to make her story work. She was even able to pull me into the character Alex’s mind set, during the most climatic moments.
There were some things I didn’t  really like about the story. Most of it was the romance for Alex. It was confusing, felt forced and seemed like “oh both of you love me, but one of you aren’t really what you are. So I guess I’ll be with the other person who loves me.” It just felt like Alex might not really love any of the people who were in love with her but felt like she had to be with one of them because they loved her. To me that was the only thing really distracting away from the characters and plot.
By the time I got o the end of the book I was breathless and looking for more. Now I just have to holdout long enough for the next book in the series.

Advanced Reading Copy. In return for this ARC, I gave my honest review.

4 out of 5 stars.

Young Adult. Romance. Fantasy. Paranormal.

Published by Sourcebooks Fire.

Summary: Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Leave a Reply

