Review of This Shattered World (Starbound #2) by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner

This Shattered World (Starbound #2)  by Amie Kaufman , Meagan Spooner

13138734

Review: Although I have had this whole series since October, it has taken me a while to read the books. And whenever I happen to post a picture of books, asking what should I read next. My book blogger friend, who is always suggesting books for me. Tells me that I must read This Shattered World then the last book of the series.

So last week I finished the second book and am waiting to read the third and final one, once I get a couple of other books done.

But I have to say this second book was very fast paced and action packed. I also really liked the characters and seeing them develop through the whole of the book. I also really liked seeing the characters and plot carry over from the first book, “These Broken Stars”. Now I am trying to remind myself I have a very big stack of books next to my bed that need to be read before anything else in my house.

I think the only thing that I did not like about this book, was that sometimes I had no clue where the characters were at. Or that some scenes rushed from one point to the next, and I was left confused.

390 pages. Hardback.

4 out of 5 stars.

Young Adult. Science Fiction. Romance. Fantasy. Adventure.

Published by Disney-Hyperion.

Summary: The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a bloody war.

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war. 

-Summary from GoodReads.com

 

Leave a Reply

