Review of The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2)  by Marie Rutkoski

20443207

Review: I finally started going through my big pile of second books in a series, and this just happened to be what I read first. I was a little bit disappointed with how this book turned out once I finished it. Because the first book had all of this different elements to the plot and characters that I just loved. But after reading this sequel, I just felt let down. But don’t get me wrong I am still and with baited breath waiting to get my hands on the third and final book in the series.

The overall thing that put me off from really loving this book was the characters, I did not for one second liked how they were developing. They just seemed to be going in a completely different direction then they had in the first book. I’m really hoping they are able to get back on track in the last book with a big blow out of an ending.

3 out of 5 stars.

402 pages. Hardback.

Young Adult. Romance. Fantasy. Science Fiction.

Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR).

Summary: Following your heart can be a crime

A royal wedding means one celebration after another: balls, fireworks, and revelry until dawn. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement: that she agreed to marry the crown prince in exchange for Arin’s freedom. But can Kestrel trust Arin? Can she even trust herself?

Kestrel is becoming very good at deception. she’s working as a spy in the court. If caught, she’ll be exposed as a traitor to her country. Yet she can’t help searching for a way to change her ruthless world…and she is close to uncovering a shocking secret.

This dazzling follow-up to The Winner’s Curse reveals the high price of dangerous lies and untrustworthy alliances. The truth will come out, and when it does, Kestrel and Arin will learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Leave a Reply

