Review of The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2) by Marie Lu

The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2)  by Marie Lu

23846013

Review: Man Marie Lu knows what she is doing. This second book to the Young Elites blew my mind. I just love the new characters and how some of the old ones are interacting with one another. But I do have to admit that it took me a lot longer to get into this book, then it did for the first one. It also took me longer then I thought to get through it. But I’m just going to blame myself for being tired from convention season.

Anyway, I need to gush about this book more…

I think Marie Lu pulls me in with the dark characters or mostly with Adelina’s darkness. I really like her because she wants to do good but at the same time will be cutthroat to get there. And I just love her new group of people she is gathering in this book. I’m really hoping that in the next one everything will work out and she will be ok. Or as ok as someone with her power and darkness can be. But I do have to about how much I am loving her and Magiano. Because in the first book with her and the prince I just felt that the romance was a bit forced and rushed. And I am not one for insta-love. No thank you. But her and Magiano! Ahh I just attacked that ship and set sail with it. I also felt that they worked way better together then her and that prince did anyway. They were just able to complement each others characters so well, and brought out a lot in each other that you would not normally see.

So it was mostly the characters getting more in depth with themselves and how dark the plot was getting in this story that made really love it. There were also a lot of punches that I did not see coming that Marie Lu throws at you throughout the book, which was very surprising in a good way.

5 out of 5 stars.

395 pages. Hardback.

Young Adult. Romance. Fantasy. Science Fiction.

Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers.

Summary: Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness?

Bestselling author Marie Lu delivers another heart-pounding adventure in this exhilarating sequel to The Young Elites.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

2 thoughts on “Review of The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2) by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

