Review of The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1)  by Marie Rutkoski51YsucAPcNL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Review: I have heard a cray amount of good things about this book series, I am so happy I finally went out and found this book at the library.

I could not read this book fast enough, I was just pulled into the plot right away and had a hard time putting the book down. I mean this is one great fantasy world to loose yourself in for hours upon hours, or days.

The characters were really interesting too, although I had my eyes on the plot more then that characters. I did happen to be more aware of both Kestrel and Arin in the middle and through the end of the book.

Although it has been a good while since I read this book, ( I have just been lazy and busy to review this book). I think I might need to re-read it one more time before reading the second, just to make sure I remember everything right. But as I am writing about it right now, I remember the ending had me biting my nails and being upset at not having the next book within my grasp.

4 out of 5 stars.

355 pages. Hardback.

Young Adult. Romance. Fantasy. Science Fiction.

Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR).

Summary: Winning what you want may cost you everything you love.

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction.

Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Leave a Reply

