Review of A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2) by Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2)  by Susan Dennard

13624584

Review: I was doing a small read-a- thon, all by myself because I really wanted to clean up my TBR shelves in my room. So I finally got around to reading this book.

It did start off a little slow, and still had more then I would have liked slow moments throughout the book. But overall I am very interested into finding out what the heck’s going on! Because after reading this second book I feel that everything is just building up for the last book. That nothing will be done or sorted till then.

Although I think my favorite part of this series is the beautiful covers showing where the characters are in the book. It’s just super cool to read about all the different places. Especially when the characters describe the different landmarks they are looking at.

And I have so many questions about the characters and the small plots going on, all at the same time. So I am very much looking forward to the final book in this series, mostly so that I can finally get some answers!

3 out of 5 stars.

432 pages. Paperback.

Young Adult. Romance. Paranormal. Horror. Science Fiction. Steampunk. Fantasy.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s