Review of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

22396149

Review: I was really afraid to read this book, mostly because of the huge expectations I had about it. But man, it just really blew me away with how real it was. I mean its hard enough being a teenager and going through life at that age, but to explain and expand on it? Rainbow Rowell has done an amazing job in writing this book. The whole time I was reading it, I just kept thinking back to when I was in high school and how confusing and emotional it was.

The characters, Eleanor and Park. They are just about every kid in high school and what they have to go through and feel. And how at that age not wanting to draw attention because you don’t want to be embarrassed or bullied. Also the fact that Rowell was able to capture two teenagers feelings when they fall in love for the first time. I just don’t have the words to describe it. Now the only reason that I only gave four stars is because some parts we a bit slow, but so achingly real about teenage life.

4 out of 5 stars.

336 pages. Hardback.

Young Adult. Romance. Contemporary. Realistic Fiction.

Published by St. Martin’s Griffin.

Summary:

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Limited collector’s edition of Eleanor & Park features a new jacket, an exclusive Q&A with author Rainbow Rowell, and several stunning pieces of fan art.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

4 thoughts on “Review of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. It’s funny how everyone loves Rainbow Rowell’s books and I don’t 🙂 I mean, that’s just great because I know we all have different taste and different opinions which is fantastic. But I keep questioning if everything is ok with me because I don’t like her books, haha. I read two of them – Eleanor&Park which was ok and Fangirl, which I thought was just “meh”. Now I stopped reading her books. I guess her style is just not for me. But I’m glad you like it! 😉

    • That’s totally ok! I feel the same way about some other books that EVERYONE loves. And I get/understand why your not really into to Rainbow Rowell’s books, a lot of times they could go either way on the star scale. 🙂 Thank you for your comment!!

Leave a Reply

