Review of The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Untitled-4

Review: This is the first book I have read from my OwlCrate shelf in my room ( I only have 3 on it at the moment). Overall the book seemed like a good summer read about friends and love. It was that and not else more, the characters and plot were not that strong or interesting. I was surprised that I had heard so much rave about the book, since it was very bland and kind of like a flat pop.

When I was getting to the end of the book, it felt like it was giving me mixed signals the whole way through and I really had no idea what was going on in the characters heads.

the only real part I like was the whole idea of saying yes for a whole night to ( within reason) ideas. But on the other hand I don’t feel like the author got out of her comfort zone, and out of the box with the ideas suggested to say yes to.

3 out of 5 stars.

304 pages. Hardcover.

Young Adult. Romance. Contemporary. Realistic Fiction.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s