Review of Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood #5) by J.R. Ward

Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood #5)  by J.R. Ward

304027

Review: I wasn’t too sure of this book at first because Vishous kind of freaked me out in the previous books. I know that’s a weird thing to say because there have been other things that could have freaked me out in this series. Anyway, I really loved the beginning and end of this book, the middle not so much. At first I was pulled in right away and the more into the book the more I could put the book down. Which sucks because I do really enjoy this series.
I think the thing about this book that had me putting it down was all the extra detail I really didn’t care/ need to know. Like Vishous’s flashbacks to when he was in the war camp with his father. Yes, I know I’m awful because I didn’t really wan to read these parts. I also get how they help in understanding who Vishous is as a person and also why he is the way he is. I just felt like it did not need to be in the book that much to describe V.
What I really liked about this book was that I finally had some answers about how V feels toward Butch. And what was going on there for a while in the last book. It really bugged me not to know what was clearly happening and I was just to blind to see. I also really loved V’s attitude and humor in this book, very dry but still funny.
3 out of 5 stars.
502 pages. Paperback.
Adult Romance. Mature Content. Mature Themes. Erotica. Fantasy. Paranormal. Vampire.
Published by Signet.

Summary:

In Caldwell, New York, war rages between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers—six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Now the cold heart of a cunning predator will be warmed against its will…

Ruthless and brilliant, Vishous, son of the Bloodletter, possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future. As a pretrans growing up in his father’s war camp he was tormented and abused. As a member of the Brotherhood, he has no interest in love or emotion, only the battle with the Lessening Society. But when a mortal injury puts him in the care of human surgeon, Dr. Jane Whitcomb compels him to reveal his inner pain and taste true pleasure for the first time—until a destiny he didn’t choose takes him into a future that cannot include her…

-Summary from GoodReads.com
Leave a Reply

