Review of Dark Lover ( Black Dagger Brotherhood #1) By J.R Ward

Dark Lover ( Black Dagger Brotherhood #1) By J.R Ward

42899

Review: Ok, so it seems that J.R Ward is like the leader for all authors. All of the authors I read and follow on social media freak out whenever a new book/ book signing for J.R Ward happens.

I have been meaning to look into this series for a while now and thought to myself, hey go to that used book store you love and take a look. Well I did, and it turned out I already had the first book in the series. Since 2008. WOW, I know I have books laying around my house for maybe two years tops, but almost eight years! I felt bad for the little book, so I read it right away. I really did not know what I was missing. The book was really good.

The only things I had problems with were the first chapter of the book was a little hard to get into and understand. But after that I was running full speed to the end. The other thing I had a problem with was that Ward slips away the first smexy scene. Leaving me and most likely others saying “Hey! I wanted to read that! No really I wanted to! Wrath is so hot! Give him  back to me”!

Other than those few things, I am now hooked on the series.

The best parts of the book?

Well, there to many to name all at once, but…

The characters have depth right off the bat and will quickly get deeper. The plot is also able to keep expanding to make the series longer and give readers what they want to know.

Ward is also able to do this great thing with the book too. She makes the one book about two main characters and leaving the other to have their own book later on. I know this is not new to most of you but here is when it gets cool. Knowing that characters all get there own book, they still pop in the books that are not theirs are have a couple of pages to a chapter from their perspective. I find this cool and entertaining because it helps the plot move along and helps set up for the books along the road.

 

4 out of 5 stars.

393 pages. Paperback.

Adult Romance. Mature Themes. Mature Content. Fantasy. Paranormal. Romance. Vampires.

Published by Penguin Group (USA).

Summary: In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Leave a Reply

