Release day launch of Making Headlines by Erica Brown

Making Headlines BT Banner

Making Headlines Synopsis:

When a one-night stand turns into an online photo scandal, Sophie Tucker and Luke McGraw become campus celebrities overnight for all the wrong reasons.

Sophie Tucker can’t wait to start her freshman year of college—she has a full scholarship to her dream school and her sights set on landing a coveted staff writer position on the college newspaper. But when a scandalous photo from a one night stand she barely remembers is posted on The Score List, a new tabloid-style gossip site the campus is buzzing about, Sophie realizes her freshman year isn’t going to be what she imagined. As more photos are posted, Sophie decides to use her journalistic prowess to take down the anonymous person behind the site.

Luke McGraw is that guy—the vice president of his fraternity, the online editor of the school newspaper, and the one every girl wants to date. When a photo of Sophie, the girl he hooked up with the night before classes started and can’t get out of his head, shows up on The Score List, he knows that he has to find out who is behind the site—both to avenge Sophie, and to save the reputation of his fraternity.

When Sophie and Luke realize they’re both investigating, they decide to team up. But focusing on the investigation instead of each other proves difficult, especially when neither of them are sure the other can be trusted.

In a story full of the scandal, mystery, intrigue, friendship, and cheeky, sexy romance, Making Headlines channels Veronica Mars and Greek, in the companion novel to Taking Flight.

expert

I hand Thompson his beer, and then head over to Sophie. I put my hand on the small of her back and repress a grin when I see goose bumps immediately pop up on her skin. I like that I have that effect on her. “Can I talk to you for a minute?” I ask in a low voice, close to her ear.

 

“No,” she says without hesitation.

 

“Please?”

 

Out of the corner of my eye I see that Willa is watching the exchange with interest. She mouths “Go” at Sophie and I hear Sophie sigh in response. She turns toward me and says, “Fine.” Then to Thompson she says, “If you’ll excuse me?”

 

“Of course.” He catches my eye, and from the look he gives me I suddenly feel like I’m trying to date his daughter instead of his student.

 

As we walk away from the group, I ask, “Do you know Thompson well?”

 

“It’s a long story,” Sophie says in a detached tone. She’s giving me nothing.

 

“There’s time before the game starts.”

 

She sighs. “My ex broke up with me for Willa. He met her in an airport, they bonded over the fact that they have divorced parents they travel to see once a month, and would schedule flights so they could meet up during layovers. I know, it’s weird. But before he and I split up, I was sending my application in to Mizzou early decision. He asked Willa if she’d be willing to send my clips to her dad so he could write me a recommendation letter. Then I officially met her during fellowship interview week.”

 

She says all of this extremely quickly, but I keep up. “That’s messed up.”

 

“Tell me about it,” she says. “The rest of the story is even more messed up, but I’ll save that one for another day.”

 

“I guess it ends happily if the two of you are still friends.”

 

“As happily as life allows.”

 

We’re standing just outside of the tailgate now, and about a foot apart from each other, but I can see several of the people giving us curious looks. I feel like a sideshow.

 

“So, I guess I should congratulate you on the anonymous tip account duties. I know it seems like busy work, but it’s quite the honor,” I say, hoping that by focusing on that she’ll loosen up.

 

“Thanks,” she says without any emotion. “Now, please tell me why you failed to mention that you have a girlfriend.”

 

“Who told you that?” I ask before realizing it’s the wrong question to ask.

 

“Does it matter?”

 

“Wait, hold on. Let’s back up. I don’t have a girlfriend.”

 

“Well, not now.” She crosses her arms across her chest and shifts all her weight to her left hip.

 

“And not last weekend, either.” I look into her eyes, hoping she can see that I’m not lying to her.

 

“Then why would someone think she’s your girlfriend?”

 

I shake my head. “That’s my long story.”

 

“There’s time before the game starts,” she says with a satisfied smirk. I can’t help but smile.

 

“You’re a quick one.”

 

“And not just when it comes to getting me in bed,” she says without a drop of humor.

 

I lean in toward her and say, “I worked a lot harder than I normally have to to get you in bed with me.”

 

She rolls her eyes. “So I’m your big conquest because I didn’t just get naked when you walked into a room. Gee, thanks.”

 

“That’s not what I meant,” I say, backpedaling for the second time.

 

“I know what you meant. Now tell me why the sorority I’m a legacy to is blacklisting me because of you.”

Making Headlines_7

 

 

Erica Brown Bio:

Erin Brown Author Photo

Erin Brown is a writer, Whedonite, Whovian, yogi, HGTV addict, and connoisseur of The CW’s TV line-up. She was born and raised in Arkansas, lived in New York City for five years, and recently moved to Singapore, where she lives on the beach, which is completely wasted on her because she is a ginger and the sun is not her friend. She is the author of Taking Flight and Making Headlines: A Taking Flight Novel. You can follow her on Twitter @erinbrownwrites.

Rafflecopter

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4cf78adb122/

 

Buy Links:

 Amazon | Barnes& Noble | iBook Store | Smashwords

 

Links:

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Wattpad | Website

Leave a Reply

