Review of Taking Chances (Taking Chances #1) by Molly McAdams

Taking Chances (Taking Chances #1) by Molly McAdams

16174878

Review: This is one of the books that I really wish that I had looked at other reviews first before buying it.

I have now learned my lesson.

It has been a long time since I bought this book, but I finally got time to read it, because everyone is talking about Molly McAdams. After reading this book I wish I had a time machine to go back to when I bought this book and beat myself up. And not buy the book. Although, I am not saying that she is a bad writer, her other books might even be great, just not this book. From reading this, I will not be buying anymore of her books in the future.

The plot was up and down all the time, and never constant. It was all very unlikely that any of the events in the book could ever happen, and I know it was fiction, but people/readers expect something they can relate to. I doubt that any girl in the world could go to college and every guy she met would fall in love with her and want to protect her. I mean really, come on.

The characters just get worse and worse as the plot goes on, The main character Harper, has no real personality that I could see and her best friend and her own family were great in the first half of the book then got worse as it went on. When I don’t like characters I just everyone to die, and I wanted that to happen so bad in this book.

I apologize to anyone who likes/loves Molly McAdams, this is just how I felt about this book. And I was holding back most of the rant too.

1 out of 5 stars. Because goodreads does not have a worst rating.

 453 pages.

New Adult. Romance. Contemporary. Could be Young Adult too.

Published by William Morrow.

Summary: Her first year away is turning out to be nearly perfect, but one weekend of giving in to heated passion will change everything.

Eighteen-year-old Harper has grown up under the thumb of her career marine father. Ready to live life her own way and to experience things she’s only ever heard of from the jarheads in her father’s unit, she’s on her way to college at San Diego State University.

Thanks to her new roommate, Harper is introduced to a world of parties, gorgeous guys, family, and emotions. She finds herself being torn in two as she quickly falls in love with both her new boyfriend, Brandon, and her roommate’s brother, Chase. Despite their dangerous looks and histories, both men adore Harper and would do anything for her, including taking a step back if it would mean she’d be happy.

Leave a Reply

