Review of Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard

16159252

Review: I have heard nothing but great things about this book, but never what it was really about. So I was very happy to find it in my SWAG bag from RT this year, when I got home. So ever since May it has been staring at me and trying to get me to read it, I finally broke a couple of weeks ago and read it. I was not disappointed, but surprised. If I have know what the plot and the book it self was about, I mostly likely would not have read it.

Why? You might ask. I don’t like Zombies. NOT.AT.ALL. ( because it could really happen)

Red hill ruined me from ever picking up another Zombie book again. Although, this book had a deeper depth and was not about the Zombie apocalypse, which was very good for me. Eleanor was a cool badass character, who make it fun to read about her and how she was dealing with running her family and making sure that they could stay afloat and keep their image. Though at times it was hard to follow and I did get lost, I was able to find my way again very quickly. Though, I do have to say that the ending was my favorite because of the shocker that happens to Eleanor that doesn’t really happen to main characters in their books. Which left me wanting for more, and looking everywhere for the next book. Also another part of the book I liked, was that the romance was not a big thing, and also not all ” love at first sight”. To which, I think Dennard will develop more in the second and third books of the series.

4 out of 5 stars.

416 pages.

Young Adult. Horror. Historical fiction. Romance. Fantasy. Steampunk. Science fiction. Paranormal.

Published by HarperTeen.

Summary: Here’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

Leave a Reply

