Review of Four: A Divergent Collection (Divergent 0.1 – 0.4) by Veronica Roth

Four: A Divergent Collection (Divergent 0.1 – 0.4) by Veronica Roth


Review: Sorry for the late review of FOUR, but I had ordered this book from Target but it was pushed a month back and then canceled, so I went else where and bought it.

First and foremost, yes you will cry. Most likely not from the four parts but from the exclusive scenes added. Which include “First Jumper-Tris”, “Careful, Tris”, and “You look good, Tris”. The reason I say this is because well, Tris through Four’s eyes is very moving. Which will also lead to you crying and screaming “why!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It did not have to be like this!!!!! and more sobbing.

The part that got me the most – ” She smiles. And I wonder, for the first time, if she likes me. If she can still grin at me when I’m like this…well, she might. One thing I know: For helping me forget how awful the world is, I prefer her to alcohol.”

It was really cool finding out that the series was going to be from Four’s point of view but then changed to be from Tris’s. I have never knew that before, and I am glad how the series turned but, I am also glad that this book was published. Four is one of the characters that I think everyone wants more of, so this book was a great solution. I see Four in a new way after reading this book, but I’m happy that it also doesn’t take anything away from his image too. And you wont look at him less after reading this either. Another great thing about this book is that it allows you to see his struggle in choosing Dauntless and leaving his father behind. Also, how he gains his strength was another amazing thing to read about too. That and he was so good on dates, either. The book is able to grab your heart and bring it to life after  what went down in Allegiant. Then it breaks it a little more from the love that you read that is in Tobias’s eyes as he looks at Tris.

5 out of 5 stars.

285 pages.

Young Adult. Dystopia.

Published by Katherine Tegen Books.


Summary:Readers first encountered Tobias Eaton as “Four” in Divergent. His voice is an integral part of Allegiant. Readers will find more of this charismatic character’s backstory told from his own perspective in Four: A Divergent Collection. When read together, these long narrative pieces illuminate the defining moments in Tobias Eaton’s life. The first three pieces in this volume–“The Transfer,” “The Initiate,” and “The Son”–follow Tobias’s transfer from Abnegation to Dauntless, his Dauntless initiation, and the first clues that a foul plan is brewing in the leadership of two factions. The fourth story, “The Traitor,” runs parallel with the events of Divergent, giving readers a glimpse into the decisions of loyalty–and love–that Tobias makes in the weeks after he meets Tris Prior.

Exclusive scenes included!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s