Review of The Hero and the Crown (Damar #1) by Robin McKinley

The Hero and the Crown  (Damar #1) by Robin McKinley 1124884

Review: I read this while I was sick, and it really helped in making me feel better. I am so happy my friend got me this book, because other wise I don’t think I would have read it or known about it. Great read, a little heavy on the detail, but it dealt out the detail slowly and with the more fast paced moments. Aerin was a fun character to read about, she reminded me of Alanna from “Song of the lioness”. Although she was not completely the same , which is a good thing, she has to make tough choices for the good of her people and family.  One thing that might upset a few readers, or more than a few, is that she ends up with someone you might not be shipping with her. I know I was torn in the end, but I understand her decision and why she did it. the love story was very light and not the main focus of the book, which is a rare thing you see in books theses days.

 

3 out of 5 stars.

246 pages.

Young Adult. Fantasy.

Published by Puffin.

 

Summary: Although only child of Damar’s king, and best friends with heir Tor, Aerin is “the only pale-skinned redhead in a country of cinnamon-skinned brunettes”. When convalescing, she reads about fighting dragons, experiments with kenet herbal dragonfire-proof burn ointment, and learns to ride her father’s old wounded warhorse Talat. After Tor gives her lessons and a sword, her opponents, though small and almost fatal from the first, increase in size and danger. Immortal mage Luthe gives her the Blue Sword Gonturan, relates her true history, and prepares her for a huge battle with evil, but not the discovery of her country’s lost Crown.

Leave a Reply

