Review of Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness #1) by Tamora Pierce

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness #1) by Tamora Pierce
9394691Review: Ok, so one of my friends got me this book just so I would finally read. Don’t get me wrong I love books, I love holding them, taking care of them, and reading them more than anything. But this does not mean I want to read every single book ever written, just cause you liked the book and I love to read, does not mean I want to read it.
This book though, was very good, I quite loved it and wish to read the rest of the series because Alanna is very badass. This still does not mean I want to read everything or have time to read everything that people recommend to me. But for this friend of mine I will read any and everything she gives me to read, it just might take some time but I will read it.
Anyway, I’m done ranting and praising my friend. On to the book! Where was I, Oh! That’s right Alanna the badass, well she certainly is for being a preteen and a girl. Because if your looking for inspirational female characters look no further, Alanna is your girl, or should I say boy. Since she dresses and pretends to be her brother to learn to be a knight. This may not seem like an original story plot, for a girl to pretend to be a boy/ her brother to get what she so desperately wants. Though this book will make you think differently and is able to give its own twist and turns to the plot to set up for further novels in the story of Alanna.

4 out of 5 stars.
272 pages.
Young adult.
Atheneum Books.

Summary: In a time when girls are forbidden to be warriors, Alanna of Trebond wants nothing more than to be a knight of the realm of Tortall. So she finds a way to switch places with her twin brother, Thom. Disguised as a boy, Alanna begins her training as a page at the palace of King Roald. But the road to knighthood, as she discovers, is not an easy one. Alanna must master weapons, combat, and magic, as well as polite behavior, her temper, and even her own heart.

Leave a Reply

